Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    Unanswered: Accessing SQL Server 2005 through Vista

    I just bought a new HP laptop that has Vista installed. Not happy about the OS but it is what it is...

    I need to use Enterprise Manager, or an equivalent, to access a remote server, running SQL 2005.

    With XP, I always installed and used SQL Server 2000 Client features.

    Vista does not play well with SQL 2000 so I am looking for an alternative to simply be able to access, and perform DTS functions, a remote SQL 2005 system.

    Does SQL Server 2005 Express offer client alias features?

    Can anyone recommend another approach or product?

    Thank you,

    Steve

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    Vista sucks, no doubt about it. I had to install it at work, but it will be a LONG time before I choose to install it at home.
    That said, what errors or issues to you run into running Enterprise Manager on Vista? This is one thing that I have not had a problem with.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks blindman,

    Are you referring to EM in SQL 2000 or 2005? I've tried both with different issues.

    Steve

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    EM is 2000. SSMS is 2005. I am running both on a Vista desktop.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    blindman,

    I have installed SMSS and it is running. However, when I try to open or modify any tables or views, SQL stalls out.

    I can see the databases, the table names but when I try to open any table, regardless of size, it shoes (expanding) but then stalls out.

    I have created an exception in Windows firewall...

    Thanks for any insight,

    Steve

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    Is the SQL Server local or remote?
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    remote.

    I have comfirmed that it is set up to allow remote connections.

    thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    If SSMS opens correctly under Vista, but merely stalls out when trying to connect to a remote database server, then my guess is that you have a network issue.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •