Question Unanswered: Getting inventory levels in access data base

I must state here first that I am very new to this programming staff. I am trying to developie a small grocery shop inventory-tracking database. I am able to calculate for the closing stock but I am not able to transform that into the opening stock of the next day. Please help on how I can achieve this in either a query or report.

Please use the simplest method i can use.

Thanks

Kamusteve

Provided Answers: 59
    unless you have shrinkage overnight then by defintion if you can clacualte the closing stock at night, then re-running the same calculation should give the opening stock
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

As healdem pointed out unless you have stock "disappearing" over night you should have the same figure as the closing stock calculated. However, you need to be aware of other issues. You may (will) have stock passed its sell by date, damaged or unfit to sell. Is this taken in to consideration?? It WILL make your opening stock differ to the closing stock figure.
    Im also guessing that you may not have coded the opening stock - closing stock
    ie
    Opening_stock = Opening_stock - closing_stock
    If you are relying on typing in to a record whats left so that it alsway maintains a record you may need to re-think

may be a discription or example pt on here could afford you somehelp?

gareth

Exclamation

Thanks healdem and gareth. But may be i did not put clear my problem. I do have a query of Transactions. In the query i have TransID, TransDate, ProductName, ProdcutCategory, PurchaseQty, UnitCost PurchaseValue, SaleQty, UnitSalePrice, SalesAmount, ClosingStock:[PurchaseQty]-[saleQty].