Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

table design and relationships

hello,

I am new to making databases. I am writing a database for making wire lists for cabling. I do not know what the best way to create this is (I am using MS Access 2003). I would like to have a table (list of wires) as follows:
    example connector 1 is connected to 2, and 5 is connected to 3.

Source Destination
    A1 ---- C2
    A5 ---- C3
    A1 ---- A5

My problem is that for example for the first wire, connection 1 can also be the destination when connection 2 is the source.

I would like to make a query that lists all the "A"s as the source and allows you to update the destination column.

Any help is appreciated.

Not sure where this belongs. Not quite sure what the question is either.

I'm popping it in db design. Any mod disagree please move as you see fit.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

Could use more explanation of the application.

Sorry the message wasn't clear. I'm not quite sure what to ask. I'll try to explain it better.
    I have some jumper wires and connectors with many pins. I want to make a database that records how the connectors are wired together. For example, I have connector A, B, and C. Connector A, pin 1 connects to Connector C pin 2. Conn A pin 5 connects to C pin 3, and A pin 1 connects to A pin 5 etc. there are hundreds to thousands of these connections.

I would like to have some tables (or queries) that list all the wires that connect to a particular connector (as the source). for example, the table that shows Connector A connections would look like this:

(Source) (Destination)
    A1 C2
    A1 A5*
    A2 C3
    A3 B2
    A5 A1*

In the database, any pin can connect to any other pin on any connector.

As you can see (I hope) that the wire connection between A1 and A5 is listed twice. ie for the connection between A1 and A5, they can both be both a source and a destination.