Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Unanswered: Data Model - Too Normalized

The size of this database has me very intimated and I want to make sure I have the table structure set up so that I don’t suffer a set back down the road. I am concerned about the structure and whether or not I have it too normalized (is there such a thing?) I have been using Access for 6 - 8 years and I am now in charge of creating this very large database for the hospital that I work. The database is for the switchboard operators to be able to access information that is requested by callers. I have attached a zipped .bmp file of the data model. Would someone please take a look at it and let me know what you think. You will see it is color coded:
    Yellow = all Lifeline and Area Company Information – this would be things like Teen Pregnancy Centers, Suicide Hotline, Crisis Prevention, Drug Stores, Nursing Home, Funeral Homes, Churches, etc.

Orange = all FTMC hospital information – this includes departments, employees, hospital hours (i.e. gift shop, visiting hours) Pavilion Phone Numbers, etc.

Green = all Physician information – this includes the practice name they are associated with, Practice (some practices can have several locations), Specialty of the practice and physician, Nurse Practitioners and credentials, etc.

Pink = Non-specific information – this is information that can pertain to the other 3 above areas
    Attached Files Attached Files

When I think about too-normalized, I look at what fields of information is typically returned in report or query. For example, separating City, state, and zip in separate tables is, in my opinion, too-normalized. How many times would a customer's full address be returned and why would I want to link 3 tables together to return a single address? Returning information in 1 or 2 tables linked together is a lot quicker than returning information in 4-5 tables linked together.
    Expert Database Programming