Thread: Server Hardware

Unanswered: Server Hardware

Just wondering, which server hardware do you guys use for SQL Servers - we use Dell, curious to know what you are using - John Adams

As I understand (from the situation here in Norway), Dell does have som decent hardware, but you have to know the Dell Servers pretty well yourself, since the sales/presales at the Dell office, well... don't do a very good job.

As I'm certified on HP ProLiant Servers, it should be pretty obvious that I primarily use HP ProLiant Servers. I think that DL 380 and DL385 are very good database servers.

I have a formre collegue who mainly use IBM Servers, and I do see that from a memory perspective the IBM x3650 will be a better choice than DL 380/385 from HP, but I have no experience with IBM Severs myself.

From a hardware perspective, I think it doesn't care too much what vendor you are choosing. The servers seems to be more or less identical in hardware. However, there are some differences in the software, drivers, and support, and in my opinion HP does a great job here.
    Ole Kristian Velstadbråten Bangås - Virinco - MSSQL.no - Facebook - Twitter

Ooooo, I've been waiting for a thread like this!

Two years ago we transitioned from Dell servers to IBM (not my choice, a single-source contract awarded at echelons much higher than my humble station).

Dell:
    Not the greatest hardware in the world. Cheap plastic parts that break easily. Not the first to market with a lot of newer technology. We used mostly 2650s with a few 6650s. We also used a co-branded Dell/EMC CX 500 and a Dell/EMC CX 400.

Installation: We chose to have Dell install our CX arrays, while we racked, stacked and configured the servers ourselves. Dell tech came well prepared, showed me what needed to be done and was in and out in a reasonable period of time having installed the switchs, SANS, cabled the servers and configured storage and storage groups. Very positive experience.