How to design a database for 5000 time series of stock prices?

Hi,

I am a newbie to database. This is my first post. I am working on a project to create a database (databases) to store over 5000 time series of stocks, ETFs, futures and US economic data.

We plan to get all historical data from Bloomberg first and then update them every day.

The stock, ETF and futures time series basically have date, open, high, low, close, and volume. We may add new fields later if needed, such as open interest. Each time series may have different length because of different listing time and exchange open/holiday schedule. The US economic time series can be quarterly based, such as GDP, or monthly based, such as PPI.

We need an efficient and extendable database for us when we retrieve some time series from other programs for research. should we have four differnet databases for stock, ETF, futures and Economic data? should we create a table for each time series inside the database or put similar time series in one big table? If choose the second one, how to handle the date?

Can DB experts here give me some advice on the design of this database? Any suggestion is appreciated. Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by stian1
    I am a newbie to database. This is my first post.
    Yeah, I figured.

The stock, ETF and futures time series basically have date, open, high, low, close, and volume. We may add new fields later if needed, such as open interest. Each time series may have different length because of different listing time and exchange open/holiday schedule. The US economic time series can be quarterly based, such as GDP, or monthly based, such as PPI.
    This is very vague.