Unanswered: Different row count for select versus insert

The short version of this is that I have a situation where a SELECT * returns a different rows count than an INSERT INTO... (SELECT *). This makes no sense at all!!!

I am fairly new to Oracle, but I have been writing queries for DB2 and (occassionally) SQL Server for roughly 10 years, and this problem is new to me.

For years (supposedly), this process has worked and decided to stop working once I got onto this project.

THE PROBLEM:

Running SELECT SYSDATE, COL1, COL2, ... COL50 FROM PSEUDOVIEW returns 156 rows.

Running INSERT INTO PSEUDOTABLE (SELECT SYSDATE, COL1, COL2, ... COL50 FROM PSEUDOVIEW) returns 170 rows.

The extra 14 rows create a primary key violation on PSEUDOTABLE - who's primary key is COL0 - populated by SYSDATE - + COL1.

THE CLUES AND FACTS:

Like I said, the extra 14 rows create a primary key violation on PSEUDOTABLE - who's primary key is COL0 - populated by SYSDATE - + COL1. However, the extra rows are caused by erroneous values in (let's say) COL50.

PSEUDOVIEW is a comprised of a query that INNER JOINS / LEFT JOINS about 20 tables. COL50 is retrieved from a minor table that is joined via a LEFT JOIN

Obviously, I am not happy. Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Is it possible that you're pointing to 2 different copies of PSEUDOVIEW? Are you running both of these statements from SQL*Plus, one right after the other? Or are they running from different programs/context (ie the SELECT in TOAD, and the INSERT from an application)?

---=Chuck

Nope - not possible. If you comment out the INSERT INTO PSEUDOTABLE portion and just run the SELECT FROM PSUEDOVIEW, you get different results.

I have run this by 3 or 4 people in house who also find this weird - they double checked for syntax and consistency in query components (object names).

P.S. I am running this from PL/SQL developer, but I have gotten the same results running this from SQLPLUS