Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Linking

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    559

    Unanswered: Linking

    Ok, I've given up on my force logout of users, I can't figure it out so oh well.

    My question about linking is:

    If my db is split and I put both the front and back-ends on a network share but what I'm trying to do is leave both the front and back-ends on the network share, create desktop shortcuts and put a custom icon for it.

    Is this possible or will it just cause issues?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    All the literature points to this kind of setup being a primary cause of corruption! You need to place a copy of the frontend on each user's machine.
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    559
    I figured it would cause an issue, just wanted to check. I don't like the standard icon for Access so i wanted to change it but can't. Oh well!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Tools > Startup > icon
    George
    Home | Blog

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Bryan,

    I hate to keep re-iterating it but perhaps you might want to look at that vb script which clones the front-end with the users name and opens the cloned copy. It prevents problems as you've stated your concern is. I use it all the time and have never had problems with it.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    559
    Paul,

    I'm going to take a look at it.


    I actually just tried to implement the db to see if it worked, well, like everything with me... It doesn't!

    I tried to even put in the user names manually versus having the db pull the fOSUserName (I entered the same) but it gives me an error saying it can't pull it with the fOSUserName and String$ lines being highlighted.

    The only one it works for is me.

    I knew this would happen!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    559
    Quote Originally Posted by georgev
    Tools > Startup > icon

    George,

    I tried that, the only thing that it changed is the MS Access icon that is on the MS Access window and on the database display window where it lists like the tables, forms, queries, reports, etc. Not the icon of the actual front-end db that is put on the users desktop.

    On a side note, I fixed the issue that I had.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,312
    To change the icon of the shortcut, right click and go to Properties. THen in the shortcut tab, click the Icon button.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    6
    Put the front end DB on the root of C: (or anywhere else for that matter) then create a desktop shortcut to it. Then you can customize the icon without causing corruption.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    559
    Quote Originally Posted by dkelcher
    Put the front end DB on the root of C: (or anywhere else for that matter) then create a desktop shortcut to it. Then you can customize the icon without causing corruption.
    Tried that and the one above it. The only way I can get it done is creating a shortcut and leaving the front-end of the split database on the share drive. This defeats the purpose of splitting the database then.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •