Unanswered: Need to lookup value in table

Hi,

I'm new to Access and DB programming (though have experience in VB and VBA).

The question is simple: I want the user to be able to type in the Ticker symbol (Abbr) for a stock then lookup that value and return the whole name in the Name field once the Abbr field has lost focus.

I have the table of Abbreviations and full Names, which is three fields: the AutoID, Abbr and Name.

The lookup would be invoked by the Positions table which is what the user would be interacting with.

Thanks,
    Jeff

If you were on a form you could do something like:
    Code:
    'UNTESTED
    me.TxtBoxFullName = nz(dlookup("[FldName]","TblName","[FldAbbr] = '" & me.TxtBoxAbbr & "'"),"")
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffrey58
    The lookup would be invoked by the Positions table which is what the user would be interacting with.
    But are you saying that the user is editing data directly in the table?
    Me.Geek = True

Hi,
    Thanks for your reply.

Actually I was trying to do this by editing the table in design view. But your code does make sense, I just don't know where it would go. How can I get "under the hood" and see the VB code for this? I thought there would be something like a Modules View?

In response to your second query, the user would have access only to the Positions table. The list of Abbreviations and Stock names would be uneditable.

Thanks,
    Jeff

Actually I was trying to do this by editing the table in design view. But your code does make sense, I just don't know where it would go. How can I get "under the hood" and see the VB code for this? I thought there would be something like a Modules View?
    As far as I know, you can't do modules for tables. In Access, tables are pretty much just meant to store data, not to do anything like what you're asking. If you want to do what you're asking, I think you're going to have to design a form. You can then use an event to trigger the code above.

HTH