Unanswered: How do I extract data from views given a port, username, password and service name?

Hi Guys,

I'm trying to dump ~500k rows from ~20 views at a client's site. The server is running version Oracle 8.1.5 on SCO Unix and I don't have a terminal login to that box.

I'm using SSH port forwarding to make TCP 1521 available here where I have a Slackware Linux 10.2 box and several Win2k boxes, alternatively there are WinXP boxes at the client site where I can install and run software.

The information I've been provided with is a username, password and service name.

The data data is to be migrated into a MSSQL DB. While I believe it will be possible to extract the data using ODBC drivers and Enterprise Manager I think it will be quicker to dump the data to some sort of text file at the client site first. What tools would you recommend to extract this data (this is my first time dealing with oracle)?

Here's what I've tried already:

Install SQL Developer: I can successfully connect to the DB on my fowarded port my select statements only return 50 rows in the tabular window or 5000 in the text results. I've got several hundred thousand rows to get so to do it in 5k row batches would be pretty awkward. The export DDL and data migration tools don't seem to work with the server version I'm talking to as SQL Developer warns that only version 9i and above are supported.

Install Oracle Forms 6i: I grabbed this as it was a reasonable ('only' ~250meg as opposed to a 1.8Gb download for Oracle9i Database Release 2) size and comes with Net8 & SQLPlus. The problem I'm hitting here is that I've got a service name and Net8 wants an SID. I'm not sure how to resolve one from the other and the folk that maintain the server are being particularly unhelpful.

Any suggestions for a more appropriate tool or solutions to the stumbling blocks I've hit would be appreciated.

-Karl.

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    It depends.