Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    21

    Unanswered: db2 client instance

    Hi

    I would like to clarify following:

    We have a database server and client server. Both are AIX boxes..

    scenario 1:
    Unix admin already created the unix account on client server, but when tying to connect to database (from client server) on remote server, can not connect. The node and database is already catalog. Do we really need to have client instance [same as client userid] created on client server?

    scenario 2:
    In another situation, whenever there is need, for client our sys admin creates users and instance with same name as user on client server to access the instance/database on remote database server. Both the servers are AIX.

    If we have multiple users, we may end-up with creating multiple client instances. that may block lot of server memory. I don't think this is right approch.... Could you please clarify and let me know the high level steps to configure the client [on aix] to access the database on remote server [aix].

    My assumption is we need :
    install db2 client on client machine
    catalog node and database

    Your reponse will be appreciated.

    Thanks
    suraj

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    21
    e.g.

    Server A: Database server [AIX]
    instance: db2inst1
    database: db1

    Server B: Client [AIX]
    user: cuser

    Node and db was catalog using cuser to access db on server A. Were able to catalog node and db.. What steps need to follow in order to access database on remote server A using client user cuser?

    Thanks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    21
    Anyone has any update/comments on this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    471
    if you need to access a db from a remote client
    on server :
    db2set db2comm=tcpip
    db2 update dbm cfg using svcename xxxxx
    where xxxxx is port number or entry in etc/services translated to port number
    on client :
    db2 catalog tcpip node abc remote ipaddress/host server port/service
    db2 catalog db dddd at node abc
    port has to be port defined on server -
    type db2 ? catalog and complete syntax will be displayed in command window
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    DB2 UDB LUW certified V6/7/8

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    21
    Thanks a lot for response..

    This is already configured..

    My question is. Do we really need to create client instance on client server?

    I think, we do not need... Our SYS person creating instance on remote client server each time [same user name on server], and this is not recommended since it will block memory unnecessary and he would like to know the right approach..

    Thanks
    Diwakar

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    471
    on unix :
    client instance need to be created to get a copy of sqllib and needed environment for db2.
    on windows :
    client code needs to be installed wich will create client instance by default
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    DB2 UDB LUW certified V6/7/8

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    21
    Sure,
    Thanks a lot for clarification...

    My understanding is we would need only one client instance [UNIX/AIX] irespective of # of user accounts.

    Do we need to have single client instance or multiple client instances [per user] if we have multiple accounts that is accessing the database from unix client server.

    Thanks
    Suraj

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    471
    this is up to you and security
    I would prefer an instance/user by user accessing the system/db
    Each user could be clearly identified and flushed if needed
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    DB2 UDB LUW certified V6/7/8

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    21
    Sure,

    Can you please elaborate and explain in simple text.

    thx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •