Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    144

    Unanswered: Cant open access database

    Hi all,
    I have this access database that i have just took over and it was built using access security but i cant seem to open it.
    I have tried using the exclusive option in access but that didnt help.

    Is there a way to open that database??

    THanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    MDE or MDB?
    Quote Originally Posted by ranjah
    Is there a way to open that database??
    You have to have a valid username and password
    I know it's not the answer you want, but it's the right one!
    George
    Home | Blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    144

    Red face Mdb

    Quote Originally Posted by georgev
    MDE or MDB?

    You have to have a valid username and password
    I know it's not the answer you want, but it's the right one!
    LOL
    Very funny!
    Its an mdb file and i also have mdw file that goes with it now mdb file is 1.5g and mdw is very small so if you like i can upload mdw file thats if you know of a way to clean access security.
    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    I'm not going to hack a database for you.
    You can't edit the mdw file to allow you access either.
    George
    Home | Blog

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Agree with "gorgeous" George here ...

    You need to find a user and pwd to get into the DB ...

    Otherwise, you can find cracker sites on the web.

    http://www.crackpassword.com/product...office/access/

    http://www.downloadjunction.com/product/software/3947/

    or google for "crack access passwords"

    for other sites ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Maitland NSW,Australia
    Posts
    388

    Can't open database

    As I know little about Access security. One for the experts, is it possible to create a blank database and import all the objects?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Yes, yes it is.
    You then have to relink the workgroup file (I can never remember how to do this).
    George
    Home | Blog

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Quote Originally Posted by georgev
    Yes, yes it is.
    You then have to relink the workgroup file (I can never remember how to do this).
    George, remember this tho: If the DB is secured, then you'll need the pwd in order to import anything from it ... So, back to square 1 ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Touché my inbuilt access security using friend, touché.
    George
    Home | Blog

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    144

    Wink here you go

    Quote Originally Posted by georgev
    I'm not going to hack a database for you.
    You can't edit the mdw file to allow you access either.
    Dont need to hack my friend. Here is the solution i have found by searching and it worked for me. Posted by TUOZZO

    If the db is secure you can't open it directly (i.e., double-click on the .mdb). You need to created a shortcut that runs through your secured.mdw file, with a target like the following example:

    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\MSACCESS.EXE" "S:\PathDirectories\MyDatabase.mdb" /WRKGRP "S:\PathDirectories\Secured.mdw"

    and Start In:
    "S:\PathDirectories\"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •