Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: two instance of same foreign key in a table

Hi All,

I have a table bookMaster and authorMaster. The requirement is each book may have three authors. I want to store the foreign key authorId in the booksMaster table. I have created three fields authorId1, authorId2, authorId3 in bookMaster to store the authorID.

I further try to establish the referential integrity between these three authorId1, authorId2, authorId3 and authorId from authorMaster. MS Access gives me an error saying you cannot do this.

I urgently need a help for following:

1.How to achieve this in MS Access so that, any change in authorMaster is cascaded back to the entry in bookMaster.

2. Is it the right way of doing this or should I need to break my table in three seperate tables like: tableBookAuthor1, tableBookAuthor2, tableBookAuthor3with bookId from bookMaster and authorId from authorMaster

3. what does normalization rules have to say about such scenario.

You help will be highly appreciated as the answer to this will have a major change in my code and design.

Regards,

Sangram

Hi

Quote Originally Posted by bt_sangram
    I have a table bookMaster and authorMaster. The requirement is each book may have three authors. I want to store the foreign key authorId in the booksMaster table. I have created three fields authorId1, authorId2, authorId3 in bookMaster to store the authorID.
    Eeeek.

1.How to achieve this in MS Access so that, any change in authorMaster is cascaded back to the entry in bookMaster.
    Foreign key relationships.

2. Is it the right way of doing this or should I need to break my table in three seperate tables like: tableBookAuthor1, tableBookAuthor2, tableBookAuthor3with bookId from bookMaster and authorId from authorMaster
    No.... and no.

3. what does normalization rules have to say about such scenario.
    The first rule says "don't do it like that".

Have a read of this article:
    http://www.r937.com/relational.html