Unanswered: How to get junction table to autopopulate?

I'm very new to the concept of many to many relationships. I created a small test database about Movies and the Actors in them to illustrate the point of them. I totally understand the necessity for the junction table, but one thing I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around is how to get the junction table to continually auto-update with the new data as its added into the database? I use the Microsoft lookup wizard, but it doesn't seem to dynamically populate the values into the junction table. Is there a way to do this within Access automatically or will this be a query that I'll need to periodically run?

Provided Answers: 6
    Not sure what you're asking. If you add a new movie, there's no way for Access to know what actors are in it, so how could it auto populate the junction table?
    Paul

Quote Originally Posted by pbaldy
    Not sure what you're asking. If you add a new movie, there's no way for Access to know what actors are in it, so how could it auto populate the junction table?
    Maybe there's a flaw in my design?

I currently have it going Movies (pk MovieID) -> Junction Table (fk MovieID, fk ActorID) -> Actors (pk ActorID). Because movies can have many actors, and many actors can have many movies, this seemed to make the most sense without creating duplication anywhere. Is this wrong? So for a site like IMDB, where I doubt their site is updated via data entry, most likely some kind of mass update process, how do they go about refreshing their junction table?

your design is fine, it is the "best practice" for a many-to-many relationship

no matter how it's updated, whether by data entry or mass update, there is no escaping pbaldy's point -- the database doesn't know which actors are in which movies, you gotta tell it, and you tell it with INSERT statements
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Provided Answers: 6