Unanswered: Crystal Reports Help

I'm fairly new to crystal reports, and I'm in desperate need of some help. I'm trying to count the number of times an instance appears in a row. For instance I'm trying to count the number of times the string "fail" appears in the row, but I can't seem to figure it out. If anyone could responsed with a couple of coding ideas I'd appreciate it. Thanks a lot!

Matt,
    I'm in Crystal 10. I would add the field I want to count to the details, then I would create a new running total field. I would tell it which field I was counting. Under the evaluate section of the Running Total Expert I would select Use Formula. For the formula, it should just be something like "Fail" and nothing else. Then run it and see if it goes.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean. The code that I think should work is this:

Code:
    local numbervar Index;
    local numberVar totalPassed := length ({@Passed});
    local numberVar totalLength := count({@Passed});

for Index := 1 to totalPassed step 1 do

(if ({@Passed} [Index] = "Passed") Then

(totalLength := totalLength;)

else 

(totalLength := totalLength -1 ;)

);

totalLength
    So I think it will loop through the column and for every instance of a "Passed" it will delete one from the count and then display the count at the end. But for some reason it isn't working, instead of the right answer it gives me a strange number that isn't the count or the number of "Passed" in the column. Any insight would be extremely helpful.
    Last edited by ThrowerMatt; 07-06-07 at 12:56.

See if the PDF attached makes more sense.
    Attached Files Attached Files

THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That worked perfectly, thank you so much.

glad to be of service.

I like Starkmann's solution, but my instinct is to try something simpler:

Another solution you could try is to create a formula which you insert on the detail line which says something like:

if <fieldname> = "fail" then 1 else 0