Cool Unanswered: Matching data in fields

Hi

I am new to access and this forum, I need help with the following.

I have a table which is to be updated regularly. The table1 only has one field which contains the:
    Car manufacturer, Model, Mileage and Rental price
    In the following format
    BMW X5 on business plan 3250 (12 Month). 1000 Miles. ¶œ600.00 Rental

Table2 has the following fields
    Car manufacturer
    Model
    Description

Can some one please tell me the best way to match car manufacturer and model between the 2 tables so the database can display the description in the report?

Any will be appreciated.
    Last edited by Weebot; 07-07-07 at 15:25.

Hi Weebot

My first thought was that table 1 was a staging table from a data load but it sounds like you are using it as a genuine table.

Why isn't the data split out into their proper fields?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

The data is imported

I will split the data I was thinking if there was anyway to match the data without splitting the data. Can you please tell me how to match the data to table two after it has been split.

e.g. how do i match BMW X5 in table1 to BMW X5 in order to get the description in table2.

Yes, I can help. Break the field in the first table into individual fields. Once you have all the data in it's own field, then you will be able to match the CarManufacturer and Model from Table1 to Table2 and use the Description from Table2 in a report. Actually, the one field in Table1 looks like it has 5 pieces of data in it. CarManufacturer, Model, whatever "on business plan 3250 (12 Month)." is, mileage, and RentalPrice.