Hardware compatibility database

Hi there good people.

One of my tasks at my new job is to make a computer configuration program. In short, people should be able to put together a computer of parts that work together. So if the user selects this type of motherboard, then these types of cpu's are available.

I'm a relative beginner in database design and I have no clue as to how to contstruct my tables and the logic to accomplish this. I'm using mysql and php by the way.

Please write if you know of a table(s) setup which I could use, and/or php code and/or a specific product/open source program which does this which I can take a look at.

Thanks in advance, Victor

A small add

I forgot to mention, if a particular item that normally should be compatible really isn't, like some weird difference between manufacturers, that should also be incompatible.

Unfortunately you haven't even offered a partial solution to your own answer. Spend some time thinking about what makes each of the components dependent, and then on how you would model those components separately, and then together. After that feel free to ask for suggestions on your proposition. I don't feel that many people here will be willing to help you if you're not going to do any of the work yourself. Asking for a whole structure from someone else defeats the point of you doing the project in the first place surely?

Why don't you post this in the database design/concepts forum - I'm sure you'd get a better response.

Mike

up next to the post number is a little button that says "report bad post" when you hover over it

click that and ask the thread to be moved the next time you spot one in the wrong forum

this thread now moved to concepts & design forum
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Here's a quick solution that may work for you. You'll still have to code the SQL around it but at least it's a start.

Tables
    Code:
    -- store all your basic details for hardware in here