Question Unanswered: SQL 2005 backup maintenance plan

Hi there

I feel like a complete nitwit. I've been using SQL 2000 for about 5 years now and regularly set up automatic backups using the wizard for many people. I'm in no way an advanced user and have enjoyed some of the more user-friendly features of SQL 2000 such as the backup wizard.

Well now we have SQL 2005 and I can't find the "wizard". I did a lot of googling and found very little on this. The frustration is mounting - let alone the fact that I had to edit the registry just to be able to perform a manual backup in the first place... :-(

Apparently their is a "maintenance plans" folder but the only place I can find this is under "Legacy" and you can't create jobs there.

Has anybody else had this issue? Is there a bug in SQL 2005? I reinstalled the full version with all options selected and still can't find this folder. Am I just being completely "blonde"?

Quote Originally Posted by Mynx
    I've been using SQL 2000 for about 5 years now ... I'm in no way an advanced user ...
    OK, but you should consider becoming one, after 5 years. Scripts are much more reliable and flexible than the maintenance plans, and they're really not that hard to write. Seriously.

...let alone the fact that I had to edit the registry just to be able to perform a manual backup in the first place...
    I'd be very interested to know what that key was and what change you made. I've never heard of such a thing. Can you post that info?

Apparently their is a "maintenance plans" folder but the only place I can find this is under "Legacy" and you can't create jobs there.
    If you're managing a SQL 2000 box from the SQL 2005 Management Studio, then yes, that's correct. 2000 is legacy as far as 2005 is concerned.

Has anybody else had this issue? Is there a bug in SQL 2005? I reinstalled the full version with all options selected and still can't find this folder. Am I just being completely "blonde"?