Question Unanswered: Display records that fall outside standard deviation

Can anyone help me, I'm pretty new to access and I have been assigned a task at work to maintain a purchase history database that can also show what items in this database spike in purchases. I'm thinking I can use the standard deviation function to find the items that fall outside of the average of previous purchases in the months prior.

so far all i have acomplished is creating a reference table that takes the data dump of our purchasing history and groups the same products regardless of manufactuer this table gives me the total count of eaches for the purchases of the same items with different manufactuers.

now i need to create a form that defines the time period we want to query. When control button is clicked this returns a report or graphical representation of only items that have purchases greater than average of months previously.

I can create the form but have no idea where to seat the code for designating the time period or to define criteria of results to display or where i should use the DStDev function.

Regarding the SDev...If you put the table into a query, drag down the fields you want and click the funny looking E button in the top middle, you'll see you have a new "Total" row below the field names in the grid. The "Total" row has a dropdown box which has several functions (including SDev) you can utilize for the query. You can utilize this query to check for purchases greater than the average of months previously (you can utilize this query in another query also - ie. "nested query".) The criteria row in the query is where you can specify the date range for the date field column (ie. >[Enter Starting Date:] or Between [Enter Starting Date:] and [Enter Ending Date:] or >#01/01/03# or Between #01/01/03# and #12/31/03#).