Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322

    Unanswered: String and or Binary Data would be truncated

    I've been asked to create a job tracking system using Access and SQL Server as a backend, so I am using an ADP

    I created these simple data entry forms, and I get that error when I try to enter a row.

    I can enter the row just fine in QA (just as a test).

    Does it have something to do with the fact that I lengthened the text boxes?

    None of the text is too long for the table definition

    I'm gonna recreate it and not mess with it to see if that the cause.

    Here's the table definition

    Code:
    CREATE TABLE Application (
    		  ApplicationName		varchar(25)	NOT NULL
    		, ApplicationDescription	varchar(255)	NULL
    		, BusinessOwnerLastName		varchar(20)	NULL	
    		, BusinessOwnerFirstName	varchar(15)	NULL	
    		, BusinessOwnerMI		char(1)		NULL	
    		, BusinessOwnerPhone		char(10)	NULL
    		, ITContactLastName		varchar(20)	NULL	
    		, ITContactFirstName		varchar(15)	NULL	
    		, ITContactMI			char(1)		NULL
    		, ITContactPhone		char(10)	NULL
    		, CreatedDate			datetime	NOT NULL	DEFAULT(GetDate())
    		, CreatedBy			varchar(12)	NOT NULL
    		, ModifiedDate			datetime	NOT NULL	DEFAULT(GetDate())
    		, ModifiedBy			varchar(12)	NOT NULL
    		, PRIMARY KEY(ApplicationName))
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322

    Omg

    I did another auto form and didn't mess with it, and the problem disappeared...

    What a piece of garbage

    Does anyone know what's going on?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    I went and eneter a single char ('a') into each text box on the form, and before commit I went back, and some of the columns have an enormous number of spaces in there...what the hell is access doing?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    OK, the spaces were because the column was defined a char...I changed it varchar

    And I did another autoform, and now that's not working either

    All tables have primary keys
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    I can almost guarantee the problem lies in the word "auto".
    Brett, you should know not to trust anything Access gives you on a plate

    Oh, and I suggest you steer clear of ADP and just knock some MDB up.
    George
    Home | Blog

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Well...I don't know that the autoform could really have that much of an impact, and I want to use ADP for sproc use...Lord knows I'm not really happy with doing this.....front end...., ugh, and I did hear M$ is moving away from ADP's, but they seemed better

    What I need to do is get some code snippets and use forms with unbound controls

    Anyone got any code samples
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Samples for what exactly; recordsets?

    Just out of curiosity --
    Are you using Access purely for get-app-quick or is it that someone high up in the managerial clouds said that it was the best idea (or other)?
    George
    Home | Blog

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Yes, I want code that calls a sproc and then populates controls
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Pass-through queries sound like what you want for sprocs.
    Linky!
    And
    Linky!
    I've not actually read the second but it looks useful

    Smile Brett - tomorrow is another day!
    George
    Home | Blog

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    I have plenty of libraries of code but I wouldn't want you being lumbered with a load of poorly written Access crap. Good luck with the disconnected app.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Oooooooooh burn!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails handbags!.jpg  
    Last edited by gvee; 07-17-07 at 12:39. Reason: picture added
    George
    Home | Blog

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Quote Originally Posted by pootle flump
    I have plenty of libraries of code but I wouldn't want you being lumbered with a load of poorly written Access crap. Good luck with the disconnected app.

    Thanks. I wouldn't want to implement crap.

    Hey, do you have a progress bar so I can have my users sit in front of a monitor and stare at it for hours?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Quote Originally Posted by Brett Kaiser
    Thanks. I wouldn't want to implement crap.
    You're welcome.
    Quote Originally Posted by Brett Kaiser
    Hey, do you have a progress bar so I can have my users sit in front of a monitor and stare at it for hours?
    No - I prefer to have SQL Server send emails every second informing the user of the status of their query.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Thanks for all your help....but I figured it out
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Oh come on now Brett...
    SHARE!!!
    George
    Home | Blog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •