Unanswered: compare and synchronize SQL...recomendations?

First post on the site, yippee! So first of all I'm not a DB pro but occasionally need to hire someone, and to do this properly I need to understand the basic workflow.

Could really use some advice on comparing and synchronizing 2 different SQL databases in different geographical locations..... need updates from website A SQL database to be automatically updated to website B in as close to real time as possible. The whole database doesn't need to be transferred every time, only specific information regarding personal profiles and their activity on the other site. The end result would be that users can login to their profiles any time on either website and see up-to-date reports on their activities/results.

I know it would be much easier to host both databases on the same server but for various reasons this is not an option.

The past day was research into all the various SQL DB synch software. Having a hard time finding unbiased viewpoints...

First of all is there any reliable and secure open source alternatives? I searched sourceforge and found 'SQL Server DB Compare and Synchronize', but it doesn't seem to have full automation.

Also found a few paid for solutions through other forums such as 'Red Gate' products but they would cost upward of $3-500

I need something that is secure and reliable, don't mind a bit of customization but would prefer a solution out of the box.

any advice/articles/reading material/recommendations would be greatly appreciated

have a nice day Derek

Hi there,

SQL server has various different functionality out of the box to update 2 databases with the same information, there is replication, log shipping and database mirroring (sql 2005 only).

What version of SQL server do you have?

Thanks for the reply...