Unanswered: Help with Error Message

I am getting a strange error message when running an Append Query (Operation must use an updateable query). This is a append query I have been running for 2 years and it has always worked. Lately I have had a coworker run the reports for me, and now something has happened, and I don't have a clue. The query runs fine when it is not in append status. The real problem is this has happened to about 31 queries that where in a macro. All 31 queries are having the same problem. Any ideas?

Provided Answers: 10
    What is the error message?
    George
    Home | Blog

Agreed with George, it's hard for us to diagnose an error when you don't tell us what the error is

If I had to venture a guess, since it's on an append error, is it giving you a message something like "You are about to append X row(s) to a table. Is this OK?". If this is like the message you are getting, try putting a

DoCmd.SetWarnings False
    DoCmd.RunSQL strSQL
    DoCmd.SetWarnings True

around your SQL.

Give it a go, but we need the error msg if we are to properly try (5th bullet pt).
    Me.Geek = True

Whenever I set a new user up to use one of my databases, I have to make a few adjustments to their computers. Those "You are about to delete X rows" tend to cause them to be gun-shy.

Turn them off permanently by going to:
    Tools-->Options and under the Edit/Find tab, uncheck Confirm
    Record Changes and Action Queries
    Inspiration Through Fermentation

A problem affecting 31 append queries to me might mean something has changed with the table design or properties of MSAccess and the way it handles the records. Are you able to add new records directly into the tables themselves?

Are you also sure you didn't check something else in the properties which perhaps locks all records for editing? (ie. Advanced tab - Default record locking.)
    Last edited by pkstormy; 07-31-07 at 13:27.
    Expert Database Programming