Noob Design Questions

Hello all! I am new to the db game and have been working with a contact list in excel that has far outgrown what excel can handle so here it goes.

Without getting into specifics so I don't lose my job, I need to create a database that includes the following. lets call them Law Firms, Contacts at Law Firms, Disciplines of each Law Firm, A contact log, Weather or not we have worked with the firm, and if we have worked with the firm was it directly or as a sub contractor of another company that was employed by the firm.

Here are the tables I think I need, (this is where you can set me straight.)

Firms (FirmID, Firm Name, Contact Info in multiple fields)
    Contacts (ContactID, FirmID, Contact Into in multiple fields)

Is that O.K. so far?

Where I get stuck is in the disciplines part. should I include fields for each discipline in the Firms table with a simple true false value for each discipline and work history? Or do I need to create a separate table for that info?

Also the contact Log I believe should be simple

A (FirmID, ContactID, Type of contact, contact notes)

Now being that I am new to the game I realize that I may be way off. Fire away and thanks for the help!

-Chris

I always find the best way to realising any database down is to take the whole thing right back to basics...

One Firm can have many Contacts
    One Contact can have ...

When you've come up with this - let us know

EDIT: By the by... This is not a n00b question - it's just something you need help with!
    George
    Home | Blog

not knowing the legal world....
    Id expect a table to store a company's common details, including say the main switch, website etc.
    a sub table to that to identify any branches (including ther main switch / collection email account for that branch)

Id then expect some form of table to enable you to identify which legal parastite did what style of work, eg group A converyancing, B Corporate Law, C Insolvency, D Family Court