Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7

    Unanswered: Property Not Found Error

    Hello Everybody,

    I am a bit newbie in access. I am trying to import a file ( 846 lines ) in msaccess. I have done this before, but for this particular file I am getting the error - 'Property Not Found'.

    Anybody enountered this problem before ?
    Or anyone who knows the answer ?
    Will appreciate any help on this.

    Thanks in Advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    hmmm. Can you import other files into that specific mdb file? Is it just this import file? If so, check the data in the import file to make sure there are not any wierd values (such as 12/125 for a date field.) What kind of file are you trying to import? Does it work in a new mdb?
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7
    Its a Tab-delimited text file with no date values. First field is a random serial number , and second field is just plain text.
    I tried importing only a part of it ( 63 rows ) but I still get the same error. I have imported these type of files before with no problem.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Does your table structure match the file structure? Are you trying to insert your random serial number into an identity field - if so this may fail!
    Try see if you can get a single line of data from the file into your table.
    George
    Home | Blog

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7
    There are three fields in the table - 2 text and 1 Number field. I am importing only the text fields.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Quote Originally Posted by ac_sql
    Its a Tab-delimited text file with no date values. First field is a random serial number , and second field is just plain text.
    I tried importing only a part of it ( 63 rows ) but I still get the same error. I have imported these type of files before with no problem.

    Thanks.
    Tab-Delimited? So if you make a copy of the import file and then edit the import file and delete everything except the first 1 or 2 records, it works?

    Sounds like the import file has something wrong with one or more lines of data (ie. an extra tab or no tab where there should be one.)

    But first establish whether it's a problem with the import file or with MSAccess. Try importing a file that worked before. If it works, your problem is mostly likely with the import file which we can't help you with unless you zip and upload it. If importing an old import file doesn't work, create a new mdb and try importing into that new mdb. If it still doesn't work (and an old import file that did work doesn't import into the new mdb), then either something has changed with your import routine/table structure or possibly re-install MDAC or MSAccess.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7
    Well, its strange... I tried importing that File in a different database in an empty Table. It worked Fine and imported the File.
    Then I tried creating a new table in the same database in which I was trying to import the file before...just to check whether I can import it in a new table or not....and I could not create the new table. Access gives me an error while creating the new table - Invalid Argument.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Unless someone else chimes in, I'd re-install Office/Access. But run some more tests on creating a new mdb, new table, forms, etc... I'm still not convinced that there isn't something wrong with the import file. Again, try an old import file and let us know how that goes. It's difficult to diagnose unless you try that.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Did the empty table have the same structure as before?
    Could you perhaps show us the first 5 lines of the text file along with your table definition and let's see what happens.
    George
    Home | Blog

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    601
    why don't you bring in all 3 fields to the db, format them, the append field 1&2 to the table?
    Ryan
    My Blog

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7
    Here are the first few lines of the file that I am trying to import :- the first field is a scanned barcode, and the next field indicates whether i was able to scan it or entered the barcode in the file manually. The table structure is given below.

    5000101018001772486
    5000101018001772484
    58115120060700690855 entered manually
    58115120060700690459 entered manually
    58115120060700685905 entered manually
    58115120060700685509 entered manually
    58115120060700684915 entered manually
    58115120060700684519 entered manually
    58115120060700681945 entered manually
    5000101018001832054
    5000101018001832053
    5000101018001833758
    5000101018001833759
    5000101018001833760
    5000101018001792976
    5000101018001792975
    5000101018001792977
    5000101018001537253


    Field Datatype Field Size
    --------------------------------------------------------
    External_Sr_No TExt 20
    Comments Text 30
    Batch Number Long Integer

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7
    Hello pkstormy,

    I tried importing my old files and I still get the same error - Property Not Found.


    Thanks......

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Quote Originally Posted by ac_sql
    Well, its strange... I tried importing that File in a different database in an empty Table. It worked Fine and imported the File.
    Then I tried creating a new table in the same database in which I was trying to import the file before...just to check whether I can import it in a new table or not....and I could not create the new table. Access gives me an error while creating the new table - Invalid Argument.
    Having a problem with creating any new table in a new blank database leads me to suspect that you probably need to re-install MSAccess.

    Disregarding any importing, can you create a new mdb and new tables? Can you also create forms, reports? Try creating 2 or 3 or more new mdb files and 2 or 3 more tables in each. If you get an error while doing this (again, disregarding any importing), my impression would be that there is a problem with MSAccess itself.

    If you have a problem creating a new table AFTER the importing, then I would suspect the importing is somehow messing up the mdb file. It could be just that import file or the import routine itself. You need to run this thru some thorough tests and not just create 1 mdb and 1 table. Create new mdb's and start by importing old import files that worked, working your way up to the import file which is giving you problems. The goal again is to find out if that import file is messing up your mdb file or if there is a problem with MSAccess.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •