Unanswered: Access 2000 - Relative addressing

Hi,
    I have a database that is working fine. To display images in the database and reduce the file size of the database I use a field in tblemployees to state the local location of the image, i.e d:\img\person1.jpg. This image is then displayed in a form with other details on the employee.

What I would like to know is can I use relative addressing (similar to HTML i.e. ./img/person.jpg). Is there a technique to say "look in the current directory for the image".

Zedekiah.

Provided Answers: 19
    CurrentProject.Path will return the path your database resides in.

Linq
    Last edited by Missinglinq; 08-19-07 at 07:56.
    Hope this helps!

The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Hi Linq,
    Thank you for the speedy reply.

Does CurrentProject.Path need to be used in a VB or VBA environment. I have little experience with these tools.

Do you know of an example of this code on action. I'm afraid I am the type that needs to play with code to understand it.

Zedehiak.

Use CurrentProject.Path & "\person1.jpg" wherever you had it stored before.
    Hope this helps!

The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

Provided Answers: 10
    Personally I just store the full path to the file, unless of course all images are in a single folder - then use Linq's example
    Code:
    Folder & "\FileName.ext"
    George
    Home | Blog

I think (I could be wrong; I have been three times, as I tell my 4th wife) that the OP wants to be able to store the images in the same folder that the db resides in, and reference it, regardless of where the user has installed the db.

God, was that right? I've been on pain medication for three days now!

Linq
    Hope this helps!

Hi Linq & georgev,