Unanswered: Create Table in Stored Procedure

Hi,
    I'm new to DB2. I need to create a physical table in my stored procedure. I cant use the session.temp table. how can i do it in my stored procedure. And also how can I create the physical table into a different database? For example i have 2 database. database1 and database2. my Stored proc is in database1. in my stored proc i need to create a physical table into database2. how can i do it? is there a syntax in db2 like in mssql where you can select and insert it into the created table automatically? tnx. I'm using version 9.
    Last edited by aquiintac; 08-22-07 at 22:28.

CREATE TABLE statements cannot be run directly from the procedure as static SQL. You need dynamic SQL, i.e. create the statement in a string and then run EXECUTE IMMEDIATE.

The same applies to creating the base table in a different database. You have to set up federation to access the other database, then switch to PASSTHRU mode and create the table that way - all with dynamic SQL. (I'm not completely sure if you can have federated operations inside a procedure, though. It may depend on the programming language you use to implement the procedure.)

Note that you cannot simply compare "databases" of one DBMS with another. Many DBMS have a different understanding what a "database" actually is. For example, DB2 LUW considers a database as a closed object with its own catalag, buffer pools, logs, etc.. Each database is physically separated from all other databases DB2 z/OS has multiple databases in a subsystem that share a catalog.

Anyway, my questions would be:
    [list][*] Why do you have to create a base table inside the procedure? That may hint at a design problem of your application.[*] Are you sure that you really want to have different databases and not just different schemas?[/list
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development