Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Desperately Need assistance with an Access DB

trial and error.... thus far everything i have learned in the IT field was from trial / error / reading .. very little formal instruction if any at all.

And now 15 years of being a Network Admin i have encountered my biggest challenge... Databases, and i have ran into a wall. I know nothing about DB's and would love some assistance. As it is now .. ALL of my information is done with excel.... 3 spreadsheets that are ENORMOUS and really dont do everythign that i want.

I am trying to create a database for work that does the following

Lists employee's and has the following fields

----------------
    employee ID #
    first name
    preferred name
    last name
    work email address
    work phone number
    non work email address
    non work phone number
    group
    supervisors name
    managers name
    hired date
    released date
    site location

-And a few other fields in which i have all of the data already in a excel spreadsheet

------------------

with a simple form to scroll through and view information and update / add employees
    also look people up by:
    -------------------------
    employee ID # (one)
    site (many)
    managers name (many)
    hired date (many)

and would like to have the ability to have a "issue" form that i can click issue .. look them up via the listed items above .. have that autopopulate the data that does not change (name / etc) and then be able to put in a issue report .. and rate it "positive" or "negative"

and be able to sort through them ...

does this make sense to anyone? does this sound reasonable and possible ?

and most importantly is there anyone out of the kindness of there heart would be able to assist me with this .. could offer services in other areas? money? good faith?

-Desperately needing assistance from a DB guru