Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Unanswered: VBA code: how to detect duplicate record in text file and prompt for deletion?

Hi Gurus,

I am pretty new to Access VBA and desperately need your guidence to resolve this problem.

My company has a test machine to test sample quality and write the test result values to a text file like the following without the header.

Essentially, the combination of "test criteria", "sampleno", "endno", and "test type" should be a unique value.

When the tester connect one end of a sample to the machine, finish testing, he clicks Save button on the screen, the machine will write one line to the text file. But some times, the tester may make mistake and need to test twice for this end of sample for the same test criteria and same test type, the machine can not tell and will write a new line, which cause duplicate records like the following example: test criteria: 1311, Sampleno: 4, endno: 2, and test type: Relative Power; This appear 2 lines and it will take a lot of works to clean up after all of the samples are tested. The tester often forgot which line is bad and should be deleted. The tester can not see the file until the all the testing are done.

Is any way to write a access vba code to read the text file (while the unknown program in the test machine is writing data in the text file) to detect the duplication right away and prompt a interface to display the duplicate record and let the tester to selet which one to delete, then the program will automatically delete the duplicate record immediately without waiting the testing are done?

When the testing is going, the number of lines is increasing. I want the access program can on going detect the duplication and prompt for deleting right away. Can it be done by using windows scheduled tasks?

Is it reachable?

Thank you so much! Any input will be greatly appreciated.

Time test Sampleno endno test type result na
    criteria

10:23 AM 1311 4 1 Relative Power -0.07 4