Unanswered: clear autonum control....

Hello all,

I've got a control the displays an autonumber (of a past OrderID).....my form is set to clear various controls, including this one with:
    Code:
    Forms![Add an Order and Details]![Order Ship Details Subform].Form.customerorderid = Null
    I get that runtime error-----" '-2147352567 (80020009) You can't assign a value to this object"

Is there any way around this?? I tried using "False", the a second line with "True",,,,,,didn't work. I'm a newbie and I know you're laughing...

I just need a new autonumber to display, after I clear the controls, so I can begin a new order....

Here is my thought....is there a way to have the OrderId field 'False' until my "beginanorder"(which clears old Order info;productid, discount, unitprice, quantity) cmd button starts a new order? My concern is that the old OrderID would pop into the control display once the control became 'True'(since the CustomerID and OrderID are tied in the Link Master fields

Does anyone have a better and clean way to do this...I'm probably missing the big picture. Help (whimper, whimper)..this is the last piece of my form that I have to get fixed...thanks
    imrosie
    Last edited by imrosie; 09-03-07 at 18:14.

Provided Answers: 10
    Unbound controls!!!
    George
    Home | Blog

Hi Rosie

Is this related to your last question?

Has your set up changed since then?
    Quote Originally Posted by imrosie
    ....the CustomerID and OrderID are tied in the Link Master fields
    Now - this can't be right. The CustomerID is the pk for customer and uniquely identifies a customer right? The OrderID is the pk for order and uniquely identifies a order right? Is CustomerID not a foreign key in the orders table and should this not be what you link in the Link Master-Child fields?