Question Database Newbie - Blogging Engine

First off all, I apologize if these are some stupid questions. I feel like I'm the world's biggest newbie to databases.

I've been designing web site's layouts for several years now and I just recently decided to create my own blog that'll be hosted on my LAMP (Linux, Apache, MySQL & PHP) server. I have everything setup and to my knowledge, it appears to be secure (although I'll double check before I go live).

I've barely touched the server side of things (just a little PHP) and I have absolutely no knowledge about databases other then a few exercises from a class textbook using Microsoft Access (from many years ago) and a bit of reading I have recently done on the Internet.

I know there are already many blogging engines out there but I would prefer to learn how to create my own then to use an existing one.

Anyway, I've planned to have the blogging system as simple as possible. Only using two tables. Here's what I have so far...
    Code:
    BlogEntries
    DatePosted	TIMESTAMP	Primary Key
    Categories	SET
    Subject		TINYTEXT
    Status		ENUM		(Used for static pages.)
    AllowComments	BOOLEAN
    Content		TEXT		Required
    Code:
    Comments
    CommentTo	TIMESTAMP	Linked to BlogEntries->DataPosed
    DataPosted	TIMESTAMP	Required
    Name		TINYTEXT
    Approved	BOOLEAN		(Posts will need to be approved before they're visible.)
    IPAddress	INT		Required
    Content		TEXT		Required
    I got most of my starting points from looking at WordPress's database system. Let me know if there is anything I should do to tweak my tables above.

Here's are my questions;
    • I've noticed that in a lot of tutorials (as well as WordPress's database) that they used a number field (usually called the ID) as the primary key. Is this due to speed issues? Will there be any disadvantage for using a TIMESTAMP?
    • Does everything table require a primary key? My comments table above doesn't need one, but should add one?