Unanswered: Accessing an Access Db

I have an Access db currently in 2002 that could be upgraded to 2007 if necessary. I have about 12 people who need to read, edit and create new records in. Plus I need to be able to make design changes. My problem is that those people are all individual with stand alone computers - pc's and macs all of different ages and configuration - operating out of their homes. They are also of various skill levels, some rank computer beginners. I am an individual consultant without a server or much tech skill.

I am looking for a way to have them all be able to access it over the internet. I know that I get into databases that I have at various clients through citrix or gotomypc but I don't have a server or the knowledge to make it happen. I am wondering if there is someone who can give me a heads up on a way to post this to the internet, find place that they can citrix into, whatever. I am open to all ideas. I don't have a lot of money to do this with and it is for a non-profit. Currently I have the users working on replicas on different flash drives but it is not working well. I have 5 new records on a replica that won't replicate onto the master and the president of the organization has a mac! I am looking for a long term solution and one that I can use for other similar organizations.
    Terri Gavin

Provided Answers: 59
    best solution
    go web based
    ditch the access data store (OK you can probably get an ISP with Access), it may make sense to retian the access app if you have a lot of reports.

consider moving to a web server app using say PHP, with your data in MySQL unless you can find an ISP who will support an Access (JET) back end linked to PHP. you could use ASP.

PHP is relatively easy to develop for.. but, like Access is almost too easy so if you are not careful you can end up writing crappy code which is a nightmare to maintain in the long term.. I know my first PHP app suffered from that problem.