Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15

    Unanswered: ubable to drop database

    hi,
    While deleting the db2 database I got this error

    bash-3.1$ db2 drop database TC
    SQL30081N A communication error has been detected. Communication protocol
    being used: "TCP/IP". Communication API being used: "SOCKETS". Location
    where the error was detected: "10.0.3.4". Communication function
    detecting the error: "connect". Protocol specific error code(s): "239", "*",
    "*". SQLSTATE=08001

    Any ideas on what I missed
    Thanks in advance
    Last edited by chakribobby; 10-04-07 at 02:17.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    306
    Is the database catalogued? Can you connect to it?
    Is the instance started?
    try a db2start

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15
    thanks for u reply
    I am new to db2
    Can u explain in brief

    bash-3.1$ db2start
    10/04/2007 15:42:36 0 0 SQL1063N DB2START processing was successful.
    SQL1063N DB2START processing was successful.


    bash-3.1$ db2 drop database TC
    SQL30082N Attempt to establish connection failed with security reason "3"
    ("PASSWORD MISSING"). SQLSTATE=08001

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    104
    try


    db2 drop database TC user myUser using myPassword


    Regards

    Harikumar

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15
    hi,
    now i am got this problem

    bash-3.1$ db2 drop database TC
    SQL1428N The application is already attached to "DB2INST1" while the command
    issued requires an attachment to "TC" for successful execution.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    Quote Originally Posted by sundaram
    db2 drop database TC user myUser using myPassword
    The DROP DATABASE command doesn't support this syntax. What is needed is an attachment to the instance in which the database resides, i.e.:
    Code:
    $ db2 attach to <instance>
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    Quote Originally Posted by chakribobby
    $ db2 drop database TC
    SQL1428N The application is already attached to "DB2INST1" while the command
    issued requires an attachment to "TC" for successful execution.
    What's the output of:
    Code:
    $ db2 list db directory
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15
    bash-3.1$ db2 list db directory

    System Database Directory

    Number of entries in the directory = 1

    Database 1 entry:

    Database alias = TC
    Database name = TIOINTER
    Node name = TC
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Remote
    Catalog database partition number = -1
    Alternate server hostname =
    Alternate server port number =

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    Do you want to drop the database named TIOINTER that resides at node TC (which is a different DB2 instance), or do you just want to remove the local alias? In the first case, attach to instance TC with the proper credentials and drop the database there. In both cases, you should run the following DB2 command:
    Code:
    $ db2 uncatalog db tc
    That will remove the entry from the local database directory and make the database unaccessible from the local instance.
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15
    thank you
    problem is solved when
    i run this command
    db2 uncatalog db TC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •