Comments on this partial design?

I've been thinking about how best to design for a particular situation, and I wonder if any of you have comments about what I've come up with. I've attached a JPEG of the design if that's easier to understand.

Database to store information on one's running.

A person can run multiple times per day, and can run in different ways (sprint, jog, powerwalk, etc.):
    -Table: runningSession with a session_id.
    -runningSession table contains a FK date_id to the dates table
    -runningSession table also contains a FK type_id

Each runningSession can have information about multiple laps stored
    -Table: laps with a lap_id, time, and distance
    -Table: laps_sessions that links to runningSession via session_id and laps via lap_id. Also contains a lapNumber to say which lap it was.

Is this properly normalized (see the attached JPEG if my description of my tables wasn't clear) and a good design? I think so, but I'm still learning database design.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails dbDesign.jpg  

Toronto, Canada
    remove the dates table -- there is no need to use a surrogate key for dates, the natural key is sufficient and more desirable, just put the date itself into whatever table needs a date column | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

That makes sense, thanks.

What about getting rid of the laps_sessions table, and moving session_id and positionNum into the laps table?

While there can be multiple laps per session, there is no reason that a single lap can have multiple sessions.

San Antonio, Texas
    If lapNumber is just a recording of how many laps were run in a session, then it is just a piece of data for runningSession.

If you want to record data about each lap run, then I would fold laps_sessions into laps and just have a foreign key linking laps to a runningSession.