No numeric data for my fact table.

Greetings. My disclaimer/ rant:

I'm new to the whole star schema/ dimensional modeling/ not OLTP type of design thing so please bear with me here. The newbie knowledge that I do have was obtained from reading Kimball's "the data warehouse toolkit, second edition" about a year ago. I do realize that not everyone agrees with his school of thought, but from what I can tell you pretty much need to pick a side and go with it, and this won the coin toss.

With all my ranting out of the way, here it goes:

I was asked to see if we could redesign our reporting DB to improve performance and my initial thought was a star schema. From the newbie point of view this would consist of:

Fact table: This would be any numeric data that would need to be aggregated on, plus foreign keys back to the dimension tables.

Dimension tables: What I would refer to as "group by" tables. Time, product, location, etc. would all be considered dimension tables.

I do realize there's much more to it, but am trying to keep it simple for the time being. Anyways, I recently discovered that this particular DB doesnt really have any numeric data that would go into the fact table. In other words, this DB doesnt have anything that would typically be aggregated on in a fact table. This is not to say that they don't do any calculations, but the needed calculations are mostly off of the dates, not numeric data. These caluculations typically consist of (simplified):

ArrivalDate - OrderDate = DaysInTransit

or something similar. From what I recall, I should never store date info in the fact table for various reasons? That being the case, this calculation would need to be done on a Dimension table.

With all this out, my questions are as follows (finally):

1. Does it make sense to design a star schema that consist of no numeric data that will need to be aggregated in a fact table, but only consists of columns for foreign keys back to the dimension tables?