Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002

    Unanswered: Loading 32 bit database into a 64 bit database and vice versa

    1. Is it possible and what would be the gotchas for taking a backup of a database in a 32 bit instance of sql server 2000 and loading it into a 64 bit instance of 2000? How about 2005 to 2005?

    2. Is it possible to reverse that and go from a 64 bit to a 32 bit?

    3. How about going from a 32 bit sql server 2000 into a 64 bit sql server 2005?

    We're on the verge of upgrading a rather large database from sqlserver 2000 (32 bit) into 2005 (32 bit) but they anticipate eventually upgrading the hardware to 64 bit at least for production. The test node would remain at 32 bit.
    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Provided Answers: 11
    I have copied databases from SQL 2005 32 bit to SQL 2005 64 bit with no problems whatsoever. I see no reason to think that copying a database from 64-bit to 32-bit would be problematic, but I have not tried it, yet.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Isn't this at the o/s level?

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    San Francisco, CA
    We are upgrading from SQL Server 2000 (32-bit) to SQL Server 2005 (64-bit), and have found that you can do a simple backup and restore. With Oracle I know you have to do a data pump and a bunch of other stuff, but I believe a back and restore is all you need for SQL Server.

    Your hardware, OS, and SQL Server needs to be running 64-bit to make it a true 64-bit system. No point in having 64-bit hardware and 64-bit SQL Server if you are running a 32-bit OS.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    I asked this question of our area MS SQL rep (Mid-Atlantic region). The questions went along the lines of:

    Q1. Can I detach from SQL 2000 (32-bit) and attach to SQL 2005 (64-bit)?
    A1. Yes

    Q2. Can I detach from SQL 2005 (32-bit) and attach to SQL 2005 (64-bit)?
    A2. Yes

    Q3. Can I detach from SQL 2005 (64-bit) and attach to SQL 2005 (32-bit)?
    A3. Yes

    Q4. Can I backup SQL 2000 (32-bit) and restore to SQL 2005 (64-bit)?
    A4. Yes

    Q5. Can I backup SQL 2005 (32-bit) and restore to SQL 2005 (64-bit)?
    A5. Yes

    Q6. Can I backup SQL 2005 (64-bit) and restore to SQL 2005 (32-bit)?
    A6. Yes

    Mind you, this was all a discussion around x64 architecture (not IA64).

    Also note that you cannot go from SQL 2005 back to SQL 2000 by either detach/attach or backup/restore (I had known that already and did not list it in my questions).


    Have you hugged your backup today?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Chicago, IL
    Only gotcha would be to make sure the applications connecting to the 64-bit DB use the appropriate drivers. Other than that, I've seen an issue with SSIS in a 64-bit environment; some connections (excel, etc) that may not have 64-bit drivers yet, require the SSIS pkg to be executed using DTExec32 (32-bit).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts