Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Unanswered: Can you use a single Backup Server for two ASE Servers?

    Can you use a single Backup Server for two ASE Servers? The ASE Servers are two physically separate machines.

    Is it as simple as adding the second ASE Server info into the interfaces file? Then use isql or a similar tool to do the dataserver dump and load? Is this correct?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Error 01 - Running into all kinds of errros and problems...

    >[Error] Script lines: 1-3 --------------------------
    Backup Server session id is: 26. Use this value when executing the 'sp_volchanged' system stored procedure after fulfilling any volume change request from the Backup Server. 

    More exceptions ... Backup Server: 5.16.2.2: Client-Library error: Error number 3, Layer 6, Origin 8, Severity 5: ct_connect(): directory service layer: internal directory control layer error: Requested server name not found..


    Warnings: --->
    W (1): Backup Server session id is: 26. Use this value when executing the 'sp_volchanged' system stored procedure after fulfilling any volume change request from the Backup Server.
    <---
    [Executed: 10/10/07 4:58:34 PM JST ] [Execution: 0/ms]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Error 02 - Running into all kinds of errros and problems...

    >[Error] Script lines: 1-6 --------------------------
    Backup Server session id is: 29. Use this value when executing the 'sp_volchanged' system stored procedure after fulfilling any volume change request from the Backup Server. 

    More exceptions ... Backup Server: 5.21.2.1: Remote DUMP/LOAD is not allowed when interfacing to a stripe for device 'compress::1::/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.usertestdb.dbdump.20071010.165005.S1'.


    Warnings: --->
    W (1): Backup Server session id is: 29. Use this value when executing the 'sp_volchanged' system stored procedure after fulfilling any volume change request from the Backup Server.
    <---
    [Executed: 10/10/07 5:02:15 PM JST ] [Execution: 0/ms]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Error 03 - Running into all kinds of errros and problems...

    Command=>dump database usertestdb
    to "compress::1::/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.usertestdb.dbdump.20071010.162905.S1"
    stripe on "compress::1::/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.usertestdb.dbdump.20071010.162905.S2"
    stripe on "compress::1::/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.usertestdb.dbdump.20071010.162905.S3"
    stripe on "compress::1::/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.usertestdb.dbdump.20071010.162905.S4"

    =================
    > 403002: Backup Server: 4.30.2.3: Volume validation error: attempt to open /opt/sybase_devices/reg_test_data11.dat returned No such file or directory.
    > 402702: Backup Server: 4.27.2.1: Volume validation error: attempt to close /opt/sybase_devices/reg_test_data11.dat returned Bad file number.
    > 402702: Backup Server: 4.27.2.1: Volume validation error: attempt to close /opt/sybase_devices/reg_test_log07.dat returned Bad file number.
    > 8009: Error encountered by Backup Server. Please refer to Backup Server messages for details.
    alert: Backup of usertestdb has failed

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    Steps taken so far...

    STEP: 01
    -----------
    used the sp_addserver system stored procedure.

    sp_addserver REMOTE_BKP_SERVER, null, SYB_DEV02_BS
    go

    STEP: 02
    -----------
    Added the "SYB_DEV02_BS" entry into the Sybase interfaces file.

    STEP: 03
    ----------

    Ran the following command in ISQL...

    dump database usertestdb
    to 'compress::1::/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.usertestdb.dbdump.20071010.165005.S1' at REMOTE_BKP_SERVER
    stripe on 'compress::1::/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.usertestdb.dbdump.20071010.165005.S2' at REMOTE_BKP_SERVER
    stripe on 'compress::1::/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.usertestdb.dbdump.20071010.165005.S3' at REMOTE_BKP_SERVER
    stripe on 'compress::1::/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.usertestdb.dbdump.20071010.165005.S4' at REMOTE_BKP_SERVER
    go

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    In the end, it fails... What do you think I'm missing? As noted above, I get several errors and scratching my head why it's not working.

    I thought It would be as simple as adding an "interfaces" file entry and using the sp_addserver command, but it's not turning out that way. Am I overlooking something?

    Thank you

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    167

    It turned out to be easier than I was making it out to be...

    Just a quick note to let everyone know that I figured it out...

    It turned out to be easier than I was making it out to be... I was making it more complicated than it needed to be.

    It turns out that all you have to do is add an entry to your local interfaces file. Then via ISQL or SQL tool use the "at [myremotserver]" syntax... and walla, you're done. For example...

    dump database mydb
    to '/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.mydb.dbdump.20071011.160000.S1' at SYB_DEV02_BS
    stripe on '/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.mydb.dbdump.20071011.160000.S2' at SYB_DEV02_BS
    stripe on '/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.mydb.dbdump.20071011.160000.S3' at SYB_DEV02_BS
    stripe on '/opt/sybase_dumps/dump/REG_TEST.mydb.dbdump.20071011.160000.S4' at SYB_DEV02_BS
    go

    I ran the above command on my SYB_DEV01 ASE database server. The target / remote Backup Server is SYB_DEV02_BS.

    The biggest disadvantages I found so far...

    - Cannot use Sybase's internal compression with remote backups / loads.
    - Need to rewrite my perl scripts to support remote Backup Servers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •