Unanswered: Good Study/Reference

Hello all,
    I am a network admin with no db exp at all. I want to learn more about db's and see if it is something I might enjoy as the network admin field has become flooded (at least in my area) and I wish to pursue other options. I for all intensive purposes know nothing about db's. There are no classes close to me that I can take so I am at least for now starting with self education. A few people suggested I get started by learning Access and expanding from there. Any opionions on that advice would be great as well as what books are recommended to get started with my teaching. I am very green and will need something that is easy for a newb to understand. I appreciate any feedback. Thanks.

Just looking for a starting point,
    Brian

Provided Answers: 5

Reference

for developing Litwin and Getz Access Developer's handbook

for Newbiews
    I think Que books put out an Access Bible - though there are several books with that kind of title - the on where the data samples are from a Vetinarian hospital is the best in my opinion.

Also O'Reilly Press has a very good core of data base design and language called (I think) Access Database programming - something like that.
    Dale Houston, TX

My advice is to start with a book about relational databases. Since all of the major databases (Access, SQL Server, Oracle, MySQL, etc.) use relational database theory to store and represent data.

It should cover topics like normalization, table relationships (one-to-many, many-to-many) and referential integrity.

You will also want to have a book that covers SQL syntax. That way you can create tables, add, delete and update table data.

Then finally you will want something that will help you create a useful application. You can use Access (forms, reports, etc) and VBA, Visual Basic, C#, or something similar to allow you to create the user interface (forms, reports, etc.).