Post Some Quesions about Database for school report

Hi, I'm new to the world of database, and I'm doing my senior year school project on database, more specifically the open-source alternatives to database management for low budget businesses. It is required that I interview a professional from the field I am reporting on, and rather than do an interview with a single person I would like to be able to get input from multiple people here. I am going to post interview questions below.

If you would like to participate in my interview please post your name and experience in the field of database technology and answer the questions below. Thank You, those who respond for your time!

1. What are the advantages of a Database such as Oracle or Microsoft SQL, over free ware database
    management systems such as MySQL or Firebird?

2. After the cost of implementing a database, what other costs that can arise?

3. Although you maintain data in a database table, do you also have physical/paper copies of your
    database?

4. What DBMS do you use and why?

5. If you were going to re-plan and re-implement you current database setup from scratch, what would
    you make different?

6. Would you say a small business, that only needs to keep track of a couple hundred customer records,
    or product inventories, will ever need to utilize the full capabilities of a corporate DBMS such as
    Oracle or Microsoft SQL?

7. What type of database implementation, relational, hierarchical, ect.) do you use/prefer to use? What
    specific benefits of it make you choose this one?

8. Oracle has a free version, how does this version compare to it's non-free counter part?

9. What can a database administrator do to speed-up/increase performance of a database?

10. Are there any disadvantages to using a database as opposed to physical storage of paper files?

1. I'll let someone else field this one
    2. Support, storage, DR, lots more...