Thread: timesheet query

Unanswered: timesheet query

I have an employee timesheet that records the employees name, time in, time out, and date. I want to make a query/report that calculates the total hours worked from the time in to the time out, and then sums the total hours worked with a date parameter for each employee. How can I do this. I have limited knowledge in access so some codes would be a big help. Thanks in advance

Timesheet example

This will get you started.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

I'm using the same code, but for some reason its not working... take a look at my database attached

Quote Originally Posted by fstath
    I'm using the same code, but for some reason its not working... take a look at my database attached
    What I meant was, I applied the same code but it didn't work.

You need to change the "Group By" for the date column to "Where". Otherwise Access thinks you want to Group by this field (even though you've marked it not to show). Sorry about my example where I didn't do this (I did it fairly fast.)

Thanks for uploading an example - it makes it soo much easier to troubleshoot.
    Last edited by pkstormy; 10-29-07 at 19:18.

Also, please by all costs, avoid having any field names called: Date. Instead call it DateOfSomething or DateEntered or DateUpdated or UpdatedDate or something other than just Date.

See the list of reserved Access names you should never call a field or a table. Access is going to complain at some point or another (and make your life miserable.)
    Last edited by pkstormy; 10-29-07 at 19:22.