Thread: Drop down list

Question Unanswered: Drop down list

I am new to PHP and MySQL, however, have extensive knowledge in MS Access. What I have in mind may not be possible, and after searching the web I suspect it isn't. I thought I'd ask others before giving up. Here's what I have. The database is a law enforcement case management database. In the main table up to 5 crimes can be stored, linked with foreign keys to another table.

In Access it is easy to reference the sub-table in a combo box to select a code section which stores the foreign key in the main table. If the code section you want to use is not in the list, an event is triggered, giving the user a pop up to add the new code section. When the pop up is closed, it requeries the combo box and the user will see the new information in the list.

Is it feasible to do something like that in PHP? If not, any suggestions? I'm trying to make it a simple for the user as possible. Since they enter other info before getting to the crimes section I don't want them to lose what they have typed because the code section is not already in the database.

Provided Answers: 10
    I'm certain you can implement something like this in PHP.
    The first thing you need to do is work out how you're going to fill your combobox dynamically. What I suggest you do is open your recordset and loop through the results and add each item to the drop separately.

The event in access is called something like OnNotInList, and I don't believe there is anything in php that does the same thing...

...However, to turn the problem on it's head - why not simply have a final selection added to the drop down with a caption of "Other..." and when this is selected, you can prompt the user to enter a value (make a textbox and submit button visible, for example).