Unanswered: Best way to setup a quote engine

I'm a newbie to PHP/MySQL and I'm looking to setup an insurance quote engine with multiple companies. The input variables to pull the data from the database will be zip code, number of employees, employee age, employee gender, family status (single, subscriber & spouse, family, etc). I would like to pull the best rates in order of price from whichever companies have the best prices. Once I have the rate information, what do you think would be the best way to setup the rate tables in my database to accomplish this?

Being a rookie, I originally thought to have a table for each company. But maybe it would be easier to have a table for each age range (25-29, 30-34...) with the corresponding companyid?

Sorry, I know this is probably a pretty simple concept. But I can't quite get my head around all the options. Thanks in advance for your help!

out on a limb
    Provided Answers: 59
    why would you need to differentiate between insurance comapnies such that each insurer would have a separate table
    why would you need to differentiate between age ranges such that each age range would have a separate table

an insurance company sahres the same attributes as other insureres, they all have a web page, they all offer insurance, they all have contact details, effectively there are one entity type. In many cases seemingly different insurers are in owned by the same company, writing the insurance in the same market, but branding themselves differently.

Starting out on the entity design / data model can be a dauitng task at first. Rudy (R937) has a great piece on his website by Paul Litwin on realtional design which may be worth a read

if you were to design your system using age ranges then ow do you propose to handle a customer who crosses an age range, say last year they were 29, this year 30.... or they are asking for a quote right now(they are 29), but by the time they actually come back to buy the insurance they are 30.