Question Unanswered: Newbie asking for advice

Hi all, I want to make a relatively small-medium database for a store that specialized in selling relatively few items (under 100) for lots of different customers. What I want is just to make a record of customers purchased history and do receipt printing for customer for every transaction in the shop. I want 100% (or close to it) free solution for this. I choose postgreSQL since I heard it is quite powerful and hopefully it will deliver if I ever need to expand the system. Anyone can offer advice?

I am currently looking to using linux, apache, and PHP for this. I will develop using windows box and deploys in linux. Am I going to the right direction? My main requirement is to provide customers receipt (using a dot matrix printer), and provide customer's purchase history. There will be some (2-3) client that input data into the dbms (client server). Are there any easier option that provide faster development? I have some experience in oracle and form/report development and little java but never use PHP, Perl, etc.

Thanks all for the suggestion.

hmmm.. I guess your question isn't really about postgresql necessarily.

First I would ask, what is the time span you -want- to finish this in?

Also, there are Point-of-sale systems out there. They do cost money, but it might be worth it compared to development costs.

As far as what technology to use for the application (web, app) you should just look at what you are going to use for hardware and how the users will interact with it and just try to see what works best. You could create some little test applications using the test techs and see how well they work.

Ive never built a system like that so I can't offer better advice.

hehe, you could do a db backend and access front end. or use some other RAD (rapid application development) stuff. I have never done this, but if you are interested in speed then you can look into it.
    Vi veri veniversum vivus vici