Unanswered: Oracle Java OCI and Thin

people say oci drivers are platform dependent jdbc thin are independent..im a lil confused..
    im new to java n was working on .net previosuly....

ive only downloaded this ojdbc14.jar and working for both OCI and thin...so where the platform dependent part comes in...?? is it the oracle client installation which is platform dependent? in any case my application will remain platform independent, only the installation of oracle client services will vary; i wont have to change my data access libraries.. am i right?

for oci we need to install oracle client..i might be doing some thing wrong here..but ive totally deleted/renamed my tnsnames file n still able to connect to oracle on a different server using OCI ...
    "jdbc:oracle:oci:@192.168.60.214:1521:[SID]"

i do have oracle client installed...but does it mean i need not configure the net8 service and can directly talk to oracle using ip port and sid???

one last question; does jdbc thin has implicit pooling functionality like oracle oci?? i c the pooled datasource but there aint a straight fwd implementation wher i just initialize the pool of connections n issue get connection command like in OCI....
    Last edited by adnanyounus; 11-20-07 at 08:22.

phuffff...this java is getting on my nerves....ihad to implement pooling for teh first time in dotNet like yrs ago...i looked at msdn great articles and explanations...it was implemented, bulk tested on oracle n sql server in no time and code went live few days later.... but i really cant find such basic thing straight fwd way in java...evry ones pouring evry thing in and ive found like 10 ways to implement pooling not a sinlge one is clean n straigh forward...or do i have to re invent the wheel and implement a pooling class my self....

here is what i found for thin client jdbc oracle..

OracleConnectionPoolDataSource ocpds = new OracleConnectionPoolDataSource();
    ocpds.setURL("jdbcracle:thin:@[IP]:1521:[SID]");