Unanswered: Moving oracle data

I am not a DBA, I'm a server admin, so I'll try to explain this the best way I can.

We have an old oracle 8i database on a windows 2000 Server that contains links to a bunch of images. As far as I know there are three pieces: The oracle installation, the table structure, and the images. The current layout is as follows:

Server1, LogDrive 1: Oracle installation & Services
    Server1, LogDrive 2: Table Structure
    Server2, LogDrive 1: Image Files (being referenced by tables via UNC path)

The Logical Drive that the Table Structure is on is failing. We want to move that stuff to Server2, LogDrive1.

The problem: I tried moving the table structure to the other server, and mapping a network drive using the same letter that the current table structure uses. Since oracle runs as a service, and not as the currently logged on user, it can't see those network drives.

The question: How do I get oracle, running as a windows service, to access its database that is on another server via mapped drives - is this possible?

why not move the whole database onto another server?
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

How easy is that to do for someone who's never done anything in oracle?

It ain't easy for sure. If I would be in your shoes I would

- cleanly shutdown the database
    - copy the data from LogDrive2 to a safe place
    - rebuild / repair LogDrive2
    - move back the data
    - start the database again

No need to be a DBA (beside from having the appropriate privilege to restart the Oracle instance)

Peter

Well - those drives are on OLD hardware that we're going to be surplusing, so fixing it isn't really an option.

Can Oracle reference the table structure via a UNC path? where do we change that, or is it too much for a non-dba like myself. I do have full rights to start/stop the oracle instance.