Unanswered: create tempdb in swap space

Hi,

I have to install sybase on AIX tommrow. I am a novice when it comes to sybase and have never done it before. I have been asked to create tempdb on a swap device created for it for performance reason.]

My question is does the installation ask you that on which device you want t configure temdb? In this case I can enter the swap device? and if not then what are the steps involved in creating tempdb on swap device? Do I have to do it after the installation as a seperate process?

Please help

Thanks,

Atap

Provided Answers: 1
    No, a small tempdb is created on the master device during install
    Do it as a separate process by adding a tempdb device afterwords

Theres a known performance gain if you create the first portion after master in /tmp and the rest in a different filesystem. Also dsync should be off for tempdb devices.

i.e.

If you want a 1g tempdb.

a) 2MB in master (default).
    b) 100MB in /tmp
    c) 900MB in /mytempdbfs

for b) make sure you touch the file in RUN_SERVER file as /tmp gets whacked out in case of a OS reboot.

Thanks guys,

Please correct me if my process is incorrect

1. From installation create tempdb on the default master device which is /sybase/system
    2. Extend tempdb by creating 2 2G devices in /sybase/tempdb
    3. Extend tempd by running the alter database commands by allocating space on the two devices
    4. drop the device for tempdb in master called /systenm/tempdb

So at the end of this I have my tempdb configured in swap space.

Thanks

tats not what I said. Knowingly or unknowingly you asked the right question. /tmp is totally different from user created filesystems. Please read about /tmp and my post and then post again if u have any questions.

Thanks trvishi,