Unanswered: Access runtime. "Installing feature"

Hi.
    I use the same runtime version as always but get the following messages each time I try to start my application.

1. Message box:
    Heading: Windows Installer
    Preparing to install…

then.

2. Message box:
    Heading: Installing components for
    Installing: feature.

The "feature" (whatever it is) installs and my application starts OK.

Does anybody know what this is ?
    How can I get dispose of this?

Thanks

Sincerely
    Vestigo

Hi vestigo,

What references are applied to your DB?

Environment:
    Self Taught In ALL Environments.....And It Shows!

Provided Answers: 59
    it may be that you need to incorporate what ever feature its whinging about into the runtime build. Runtime is effectively a version of Access for each machine you chose to deploy it on. So if your runtime build doesn't incorporate each and every feature you use in your applications then more modern versions of runtime may well demand that these features are added when you runt the application., because runtime is a binary it wont be able to install those features into itself so I'm guessing.. and it is only a guess that runtime can use those features for the current usage, but doesn't incorporate those features into its own configuration so that you don't need to install them again.

older versions of runtme would just collapse and die if it was missing features.. mebbe newer ones are smarter.

I always thought the limited installation system that Microsoft introduced around 1998..2000 was to try and catch out those who were coping form a "borrowed" disk that had to be returned the following day.. in the days before CD copiers became cheap and easy to use
    Last edited by healdem; 12-03-07 at 05:14.