Red face Noob question - I keep getting conflicting answers

Hi, i am pretty new to databases, and have been getting conflicting information about this question.

if i have 2 tables, people, and hobbies, where a person can have multiple hobbies. The person enters their name, and can then enter in any number of hobbies. So, Person 2 enters their name, and hobby, which is "tennis". Should i just add Tennis to the hobbies table, or should i check to see if its there already, and if it is, reference that.

Does the answer depend on whether i need to find people base on a hobby?

I was lead to believe that duplicate data was bad, but surly its going to be a lot quicker if i just add the hobby to the database, and dont have to check if its already there. And it also becomes more complicated should i need to delete the person, and their hobbies.

Thankyou

ask yourself this... Is the following meaningful:

amthomas tennis
    amthomas tennis
    amthomas tennis
    amthomas tennis
    amthomas tennis

you should do meaningful things. everything else is just going to be clutter that gets in the way at some point.
    Vi veri veniversum vivus vici
    By the power of truth, I, a living man, have conquered the universe

Quote Originally Posted by amthomas
    ask yourself this... Is the following meaningful:

amthomas tennis
    amthomas tennis
    amthomas tennis
    amthomas tennis
    amthomas tennis
    ...depends on what you've been smoking, and whether there is a lava lamp in the room.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

:P whoa... like...whoa man.

thanks for replies, but....

Thanks for you replies

but what about:

oleat tennis
    amthomas tennis
    blindman tennis

so your saying avoid duplication, even if it potentially makes things quicker. e.g deleting a person, without having to check if their hobbies are shared with anyone else.