Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: More databases

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    82

    Unanswered: More databases

    Hello,

    I am new in Oracle. I installed Oracle XE on my computer. So I have XE Oracle database.... Now I would like to create another Oracle database but I dont know how... (Under Sybase I just use Sybase Central where I create new device and create new database on this device...)

    Thankx for hints
    David

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    It depends upon exactly what you mean by "database".
    The term differs between vendors.
    When it comes to Oracle's definition of "database", the answer is only 1 copy of XE is allowed per system.
    If you are talking about another Oracle schema, then just CREATE USER .......

    What problem are you really trying to solve?

    I suggest you try reading the Concepts Manual found at http://tahiti.oracle.com
    Last edited by anacedent; 12-04-07 at 21:09.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    82

    More databases

    I have client application that need connection string in following form:

    $path_name=ORA:{Database}|{UserName}{#ClientUserna me}|{Password}

    Example:
    $P1 = ORA:XE|scott|tiger

    This specifies a logon path using SQL*Net. The database specification
    finance must be defined in an SQL*Net configuration file called
    TNSNAMES.ORA.


    In Sybase I had 2 databases (on one computer) where I was connected on with two $paths... (one database = uses client, second database = data)


    I would like realize same solution with Oracle...
    Last edited by Musil David; 12-05-07 at 09:45.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    13
    I don't know what you OS, but there's a utility called DBCA that you can use to create another database.
    But a must advice that you system need more memory and disk space for this.

    another user schema don't solve your problem?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    I would simply create two users on the same oracle database. One user would be called DATA and the other user would be called CLIENT.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    82
    I don't know what you OS, but there's a utility called DBCA

    Its windows XP, I searched for dbca and found nothing... DBCA is not part of Express Edition I think...

    SEARCH XE doc for ... "DBCA"...


    So, I try solution with two users (tablespaces? -- is it this in Oracle the same? )

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Did you follow Anacedent's suggestion?
    Quote Originally Posted by Anacedent
    I suggest you try reading the Concepts Manual found at http://tahiti.oracle.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by Littlefoot
    Did you follow Anacedent's suggestion?
    Yes, I used it for (SEARCH XE doc for ... "DBCA"...) and I found that in XE there is no possibility to create another database

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Musil David
    I don't know what you OS, but there's a utility called DBCA

    Its windows XP, I searched for dbca and found nothing... DBCA is not part of Express Edition I think...

    SEARCH XE doc for ... "DBCA"...


    So, I try solution with two users (tablespaces? -- is it this in Oracle the same? )
    I guess the tip to use 2 users is more aceptable. in oracle a user can create a set of objects (tables procedures e functios views). and you don't need create another database.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    82
    Thanks for help... But is there possibility to another users connect to this solution? Can other new users share objects and tables of second user???

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >Can other new users share objects and tables of second user???
    The short answer is "YES".
    The longer answer as is most cases involving Oracle you have to know what you are doing in order to achieve any desired goal.
    Based upon your questions it appears you still have not read the Concepts Manual because the answer to this question is in this Fine manual.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    82
    I started read manuals. I created two tablespaces with users...

    Tablespace for application: I named it repository and created user = repos... It works fine...

    Than I created tablespace for data : data and user = user1. I created data tables under user1...

    I created another user = user2 and his tablespace is also data, but user2 didn´t see tables in tablespace data... Is there simply way how tu share objects in tablespace data?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    Continue reading about GRANTs, privileges & permssions.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    82
    Its not very nice of you just to refer me to manuals... I dont think formus are for...

    So, there are tables created in SCHEMA USER1....

    Acccording to manualscript I tried...


    CREATE ROLE "DATA_USER" NOT IDENTIFIED

    GRANT DELETE ON "USER1"."TABLE1" TO "DATA_USER"
    GRANT INSERT ON "USER1"."TABLE1" TO "DATA_USER"
    GRANT SELECT ON "USER1"."TABLE1" TO "DATA_USER"
    GRANT UPDATE ON "USER1"."TABLE1" TO "DATA_USER"

    GRANT DELETE ON "USER1"."TABLE2" TO "DATA_USER"
    GRANT INSERT ON "USER1"."TABLE2" TO "DATA_USER"
    GRANT SELECT ON "USER1"."TABLE2" TO "DATA_USER"
    GRANT UPDATE ON "USER1"."TABLE2" TO "DATA_USER"

    etc. for all tables (btw. isnt able to give something like : GRANT ... ON schema_name.* TO role? )

    GRANT "DATA_USER" TO "USER1"

    GRANT "DATA_USER" TO "USER2"



    But if I log as USER2 and give

    SELECT * FROM TABLE1

    or

    select * from "USER1"."TABLE1"

    I got error > ORA-00942: table or view does not exist ?????

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    One, do NOT use double quotes around column names or schemas. It is totally unnecessary and can cause problems.

    two,
    If you login as USER1 and type select * from table1; what happens?
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •