Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123

    Unanswered: Graphic data and graphic functions not supported for DB2

    Hello,

    I'm working on a 64 bit DB2 UDB database on Linux and keep getting this error when I run the db2look command:

    SQL1216N Graphic data and graphic functions are not supported for this
    database.

    Any idea how I can enable this? I don't have this problem on our other db servers. I find the db2look command very useful so would be great if anyone can help!

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1
    Hope the db does not supports Vargraphic data types.
    Quote Originally Posted by db2user
    Hello,

    I'm working on a 64 bit DB2 UDB database on Linux and keep getting this error when I run the db2look command:

    SQL1216N Graphic data and graphic functions are not supported for this
    database.

    Any idea how I can enable this? I don't have this problem on our other db servers. I find the db2look command very useful so would be great if anyone can help!

    Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Code:
    SQL1216N Graphic data and graphic functions are not supported
              for this database.
    
    Explanation:
    
    The code page of the database does not support graphic data.  The
    data types GRAPHIC, VARGRAPHIC, and LONG VARGRAPHIC are not valid
    for this database.  The GRAPHIC literal and the VARGRAPHIC scalar
    functions are not valid for this database.
    
     The statement cannot be processed.
    
     Federated system users: this situation can also be detected by
    the data source.
    Looks like you will have to re-create the database with the proper codepage.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    Looks like you will have to re-create the database with the proper codepage.

    What does this mean? How do I know if I'm using the proper codepage?

    Is there an add on I can install... or do I really have to recreate the db? Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    We have no idea what you try to do. Could you explain to us what your situation is? Do you want to run db2look on an existing database to extract DDL and then get the error? Or did you already extract DDL from somewhere else and try to apply it to another database? Please show us exactly the statements/commands you try to execute.
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    Hi,

    Yes, I want to run db2look on an existing database to extract DDL and then get the error.. here's the output :

    db2look -d db1 -e -x -t contact -o contact.ddl
    -- No userid was specified, db2look tries to use Environment variable USER
    -- USER is: DBINST1
    -- The db2look utility will consider only the specified tables
    -- Creating DDL for table(s)
    -- Output is sent to file: contact.ddl
    SQL1216N Graphic data and graphic functions are not supported for this
    database. SQLSTATE=56031

    Any thoughts? Thx!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    Another thing I noticed is that the table I'm running the db2look command on doesn't have the varchar graphic data type...only varchar. How do I make sure that the codepage will support the command? How do I do this? Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    Hmm... looks strange to me. What did you find in the db2diag output for the time when db2look is run (with DIAGLEVEL set to 4)?

    If you can't find anything helpful there, you should open a PMR with IBM support.
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    Hello,

    Didn't find anything helpful there...I found this on another posting somewhere though :


    Setting UTF-16 encoding option solved the problem.

    How do I set this option? Does anyone know.. the OP didn't go into any detail about this...also found this :

    Usually, no one uses UTF-16 to store data in DB2. You
    could use a regular UTF-8 database with normal VARCHAR/CHAR data types and
    store non-ASCII data in UTF-8.

    How can I check this? Any other thoughts? Thx!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    VARGRAPHIC data types are for UTF-16.

    I have no further idea. So you should open a PMR with IBM support as I suggested.
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    Thanks for the reply stolze. Yes, the problem is really strange... the machine we were working on had a lot of other issues as well...so the full image will be redone.. thanks for the help..

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    123
    Hi, just thought I'd let you know that the issue was due to the locale being set wrong on the machine. It's all fixed now. Thanks for the replies...you all are very helpful!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •