Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    30

    Unanswered: Combo Box not showing all relationship results...

    Attached is a copy of my current Database.

    When going from Bank and Broker Search screen to the Details screen, you come across a problem.
    For companies with 0-1 Address, the information in the Combo Box Address 1 displays the correct information (no address, or one address), but...
    In the event that the Company has multiple address, only the first on the list shows. (as in the case of A G Edwards...

    The Query pulls the correct information, the combo box just does not want to show it.

    Thanks for the help all!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    30
    In addition, I intend to utilize cascading combo boxes on the the Details page so I hope that doesn't affect anything else.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    30
    ^---- seems like a difficult issue.

    Bumping for possible responses, thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I'd help ya if I could, but I don't have Access 2007 on this PC yet :P
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by StarTrekker
    I'd help ya if I could, but I don't have Access 2007 on this PC yet :P
    It's so pretty though!

    Hey StarTrekker, I decided to click Save As and save the Database as a '03 version just for you! Please see attached!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Rakh; 12-10-07 at 09:55.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    30
    In addition, while troubleshooting I'm finding that if I have the Record selector enabled, If i change to the next record, the Combo box shows the next record, but again when I press the pull down button on the combo box it only shows the current record. Maybe that helps?


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    you child form doesn't allow record navigation
    so \as I read it you are expressly forbidding someone to see anything except the first record.

    I don' know what you expect the combo box in frmBnBDetails to do.

    Personally Id allow form record navigation buttons.. but that may not be what you want to do

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by healdem
    you child form doesn't allow record navigation
    so \as I read it you are expressly forbidding someone to see anything except the first record.

    I don' know what you expect the combo box in frmBnBDetails to do.

    Personally Id allow form record navigation buttons.. but that may not be what you want to do
    Well I want this form to be as intuitive as possible. A user coming in never seeing access before will not know how to navigate the records if they've never used the record navigator before. So I guess, what I'm trying to get that combo box to do is to be the "record navigator" and let the user choose the records they want (by choosing from the drop down list) and then once the record is chosen from the Combo box, the rest of the form updates with the Contacts at said Address.
    Last edited by Rakh; 12-10-07 at 14:01.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Umm... the cboAddress on the details form has no Row Source.

    You need to update that Row Source so it shows the addresses you want it to show and then create an [AfterUpdate] event procedure to filter out the record you want to show based on the query contents.

    But you also would have to unbind the combo box as well, otherwise when the user selects an address from the combo box, the data will be changed for the current record.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •